The logo of the Liga Nacional Puertorriqueña: a big sky-blue circle, bordered in red and white, surrounding a smaller circle of darker blue with white borders, superimposed on which is a red-and-white nautical star that hosts the acronym "LNP" in black block letters.

Gaceta de la Liga Nacional Puertorriqueña

150 years of the best baseball in the universe—all in one place.

The logo of the Capitanes de Mayagüez: a red "M" in modern type on a navy circle bordered in red.

Capitanes de Mayagüez

Mayagüez Captains

During the last battle of the war, Major Antúnez Rodríguez, garrison commander in Mayagüez, led an arduous overland march to reinforce the exhausted Army of Liberation. The small companies in the march, and resulting high percentage of officers, gave the team its nickname.

Campeonatos de la LNP


Liga Hostos pennants


Campeonatos de las Ligas


Series Interdivisionales

1890 • 1892 • 1897

Series Eliminatorias

1890 • 1892 • 1897

División Oeste titles

1871 • 1872

Wild card berths

1880 • 1883 • 1884 • 1889 • 1890 • 1891 • 1892 • 1893 • 1897

Affiliated Teams

Quebec City Dons (Royal Canadian Baseball League)

Related Articles

Notable Players


  • Emérico Jiménez: 1871-1882.
  • Felipe Jiménez: 1882-1891.
  • Esteban Miramontes: 1891-1897.
  • Napoleón Benítez: 1897-


  • Parque de los Capitanes: 1871-