The logo of the Liga Nacional Puertorriqueña: a big sky-blue circle, bordered in red and white, surrounding a smaller circle of darker blue with white borders, superimposed on which is a red-and-white nautical star that hosts the acronym "LNP" in black block letters.

Gaceta de la Liga Nacional Puertorriqueña

150 years of the best baseball in the universe—all in one place.

The team logo of the Vejigantes De Loíza: a purple "L" in curvy block font, bordered in silver, on a black circle bordered in purple-silver-purple.

Vejigantes de Loíza

Loíza Bladdermasks

While nearly every town in Puerto Rico indulges at some point in the creation of vejigantes—the masked characters used to symbolize various terrors in parades and festivals around the island—Loíza is especially well known for the skill of their artists and the vividness of their masks.

Mascot: Catumboscada

(catumba “fishing festival,” also used to mean a beating + emboscada “ambush”)

Catumboscada, the mascot of the Vejigantes de Loíza, is a smiling (very unnerving deep black mouth with bright white teeth) purple mask whose black eyes are surrounded in a white border with purple spots. Under the mask, its right half is silver and the left half is black. It’s got four horns up top, two main black ones decorated in silver spots and purple, two smallies in black and silver horns with reversed spots, two side ones with black bottoms decorated with spots, a purple line, and a white point with purple spots, and two more smallies at the bottom, one black and one silver with reverse spots.

Campeonatos de la LNP


Liga Hostos pennants


Campeonatos de las Ligas


Series Interdivisionales

1871 • 1872 • 1875 • 1877

Series Eliminatorias

1871 • 1872 • 1875 • 1876 • 1877 • 1879 • 1895 • 1896

División Metro Este titles

1871 • 1872 • 1874 • 1875 • 1876 • 1877 • 1878 • 1879 • 1880 • 1892 • 1893 • 1895 • 1896

Wild card berths


Affiliated Teams

Luling Lavender Stockings (Frontier Baseball League)

Related Articles

Notable Players


  • Tomás Escalante: 1871-


  • Estadio de los Vejigantes: 1871-